Significance and history of the Priesterhäuser

Its name, first mentioned in 1521 within the council minutes at that time, is derived from the fact that these buildings — originally twelve of them — sheltered priests and further attendants of St. Mary’s Cathedral in the beginning.

Besides teachers of the nearby Latin school, which was quite famous back then, lived there as well. Initially experts thought that these buildings dated back to the 15th or 16th century; but this assumption had to be revised as preliminary archaeological investigations prior to the reconstruction showed that they are much older. Dating by dendrochronological analysis, confirmed by archaeological findings, give evidence that the oldest building originates from 1264.

Back in 1466 the complete ensemble had already been existing in its basic structure. Thus, the four historical Priesterhäuser housing the museum are the oldest preserved residential building in Saxony.

Until 1880 the ensemble was owned by the church. Afterwards it has been owned by the municipality and used for residential purposes until the 1970s.

Unlike the bigger part of the medieval development in the old town of Zwickau, which was teared down due to the construction of ‘Plattenbau’ buildings common in the former GDR, the western city center was spared from any socialistic rebuilding attempts. A first attempt to reconstruct the Priesterhäuser in the mid-1980s ended up in a mere securing of the ensemble for safety reasons.

Bedeutung und Geschichte der Priesterhäuser

Den bereits in einem Ratsprotokoll aus dem Jahre 1521 bezeugten Namen Priesterhäuser verdanken die ursprünglich zwölf Gebäude dem Umstand, dass in ihnen anfangs die Geistlichkeit und sonstige Bedienstete der Kirche St. Marien wohnten. Auch Lehrer der in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft gelegenen, berühmten Zwickauer Lateinschule wohnten hier. 

War man vor Beginn der Sanierung und der damit verbundenen archäologischen, bauarchäologischen und restauratorischen Untersuchungen noch davon ausgegangen, dass die Häuser aus dem 15./16. Jahrhundert stammen, so musste diese Annahme grundlegend revidiert werden. Dendrochronologische Datierungen, bestätigt durch archäologische Befunde, belegen für das älteste Haus eine Entstehung im Jahr 1264. Bereits 1466 bestand das Ensemble in seiner heutigen Grundstruktur. So bilden die vier zum Museum gehörigen historischen Priesterhäuser das älteste erhaltene Wohnbauensemble Sachsens. 

Bis 1880 blieben die Häuser in kirchlichem Besitz. Dann gingen sie in kommunales Eigentum über und wurden bis in die 70er Jahre des 20. Jahrhunderts weiter als Wohnbauten genutzt.

Im Gegensatz zu einem großen Teil der sonstigen mittelalterlichen Bebauung im historischen Stadtkern, der dem Plattenbau zum Opfer fiel, blieben sie im westlichen Stadtgebiet von allen Versuchen sozialistischer Umgestaltung verschont. Aber auch erste Bemühungen einer Rekonstruktion Mitte der 1980er Jahre kamen nicht über eine Notsicherung des Bestandes hinaus.