Walking through the old town of Zwickau and following the footsteps of Luther

Do not underestimate the importance of the Reformation for Central Germany; for sure history would have run a different course without those early humanist and reformist tendencies.

For Zwickau, that is reason enough to dedicate a special sightseeing tour to those events 500 years ago. This tour is also an appealing possibility to go on the Luther Trail through Saxony.

You might start this walk at any point, for example at the main market. It is said that in spring 1522 Martin Luther gave a sermon standing on an open window of the town hall while 14 000 people from Zwickau and its surroundings listened to him. Just to the right of the town hall, at the intersection with Innere Schneeberger Strasse, you may find Zwickau’s narrowest house — the so-called ‘Handtuch’ (which means towel). It was built by Stephan Roth, citizen of Zwickau and later on becoming town clerk, in 1534. Until the dispute about the right to solely appoint parsons and preachers Roth and Luther were friends and stood in close contact; Roth also lived in Wittenberg for a while.

When you leave the main market and turn towards the riverside of the ‘Mulde’ you reach a bridge, the so-called ‚Paradiesbrücke’. At the time of Martin Luther a wooden bridge supposedly crossed the river at this point. It is said that the Reformer saved himself from angry Franciscan monks by running over this bridge and seeking protection in a tavern at the end of this bridge. When entering the tavern he is claimed to have said the following words: “Thank God that he made me find this house. For truly I say: this is my paradise!” From this point of time the tavern was called ‘Zum Paradies’; however, it does not exist anymore. Following the ‘Mulde’ down the river you reach St. Catherine’s and Osterstein Castle just after a few minutes. Thomas Müntzer preached at St. Catherine’s until he was dismissed by the town council; it was this parish where the Reformation actually started in Zwickau. This building, firstly mentioned in 1219, served as castle and town church. It is characterized by its modification to a late-Gothic hall church. However, the whole church was built over a long period of time from the 12th until the 19th century. Particularly important is the altar, created by Lucas Cranach the Elder.

Starting at St. Catherine’s and strolling through the old town you reach the city center with the Domhof within a few minutes. This is one of the most important places regarding the Reformation in Zwickau. Here three contemporary witnesses are waiting for you: St. Mary, the Priesterhäuser and the Galerie am Domhof an art Gallery. The gallery is located in the same place where the Zwickau Latin School was once located.

The Latin school was firstly mentioned in 1383. The school building at the Domhof was built by Martin Römer, a wealthy citizen and later on ‘Amtshauptmann’ (district administrator) of Zwickau, in 1479. Leading personalities such as Georgius Agricola, Stephan Roth, Leonhardt Natter etc. worked here during the 16th century. All of them stood in close contact with Martin Luther and his fellow reformers. This school enjoyed an excellent reputation far beyond the borders of Zwickau.

In the 19th century this school formed the basis for the ‘Realgymnasium’, a modern secondary school.

A few minutes out of the city center the visitor may find two further churches, St. Maurice and Luther. Although both are not directly linked to the Reformation, they give witness to the Protestant parishes which could be established in Zwickau later on.

Besides the Kunstsammlungen Zwickau Max Pechstein Museum, the Zwickau city archive and the ‘Ratsschulbibliothek’ as the oldest public research library of Saxony are keeping precious treasures of those early days. Among them a huge collection of local religious art including works of Peter Breuer (1472-1541) — a famous woodcarver — or letters from Luther, the salary receipt of Thomas Müntzer or precious bibles of that time. In total 16 original sites invite you to experience vivid history giving you a great impression of Zwickau’s old town as well as an insight into the historical context of those days.

Auf Luthers Spuren durch die Zwickauer Altstadt wandeln

  
Die Bedeutung der Reformation für die Region Mitteldeutschlands ist nicht zu unterschätzen. Vieles wäre sicherlich in der Historie anders verlaufen, hätte es diese frühen humanistischen und reformerischen Strömungen nicht gegeben.

Für Zwickau ist das Grund genug, den Ereignissen von vor 500 Jahren einen eigenen Rundgang zu widmen. Die Stadt an der Mulde hat so einen reizvollen Anschluss an den Sächsischen Lutherweg geschaffen. 

Beginnen lässt sich der Rundgang an jedem beliebigen Punkt. Beispielsweise auf dem Hauptmarkt. Aus einem der Rathausfenster soll Martin Luther im Frühjahr 1522 zu mehr als 14.000 Menschen aus Zwickau und Umgebung gepredigt haben. Gleich rechts neben dem Rathaus, an der Ecke der heutigen Inneren-Schneeberger-Straße, steht das schmalste Haus Zwickaus – das so genannte Handtuch. Erbauen ließ es der Bürger und spätere Stadtschreiber Stephan Roth 1534. Roth stand bis zum Streit über die Besetzung der Pfarrstellen in engem Kontakt und guter Freundschaft zu Martin Luther und weilte selbst längere Zeit in Wittenberg.

Verlässt man den Hauptmarkt in Richtung Muldenufer, gelangt man an die Paradiesbrücke. An ihrer Stelle muss es zu Luthers Zeiten eine Holzbrücke über den Fluss gegeben haben. Über Sie soll sich der Reformator auf seiner Flucht vor wütenden Franziskanermönchen in das an ihrem Ende stehende Wirtshaus gerettet haben. Bei seinem Eintreten soll der Flüchtende gerufen haben: „Gott sei Dank, dass er mich dieses Haus finden ließ. Denn wahrlich, es ward mein Paradies!“ Von da an hieß es das Wirtshaus „Zum Paradies“ – das heute nicht mehr erhalten ist. Wandert man die Mulde flussabwärts, kommt man nach wenigen Minuten zur Katharinenkirche und dem Schloss Osterstein. St. Katharinen war die Gemeinde in der Thomas Müntzer bis zu seiner Entlassung durch den Rat der Stadt predigte und von wo aus er das reformatorische Geschehen vorantrieb. 1219 erstmals erwähnt, war sie Schloss- und Stadtkirche. Baugestaltlich wird sie durch ihren Umbau zur spätgotischen Hallenkirche geprägt. Die Bautätigkeit erstreckte sich jedoch fortwährend vom 12. bis ins 19. Jahrhundert. Bedeutend ist vor allem der Altar aus der Werkstatt Lucas Cranachs d. Ä.

Von hier aus geht man bequem durch die Altstadt in ein paar Minuten zurück ins Zentrum zum Domhof – einem der zentralen Schauplätze reformatorischer Ereignisse. Mit dem Dom St. Marien, den Priesterhäusern und dem ehemaligen Standort der alten Lateinschule – heute befindet sich an dieser Stelle die Galerie am Domhof – stehen hier gleich drei Zeitzeugen.

Die Lateinschule wurde erstmals 1383 erwähnt. Das Schulgebäude am Domhof ließ der reiche Bürger und Amtshauptmann Martin Römer 1479 erbauen. Im 16. Jahrhundert wirkten hier bedeutende Persönlichkeiten wie Georgius Agricola, Stephan Roth, Leonhardt Natter und andere. Sie alle standen in engem Kontakt zu den Wittenberger Reformatoren. Die Schule genoss weit über die Grenzen Zwickaus hinaus einen exzellenten Ruf. Aus ihr ging im 19. Jahrhundert das Realgymnasium hervor.

Etwas weiter außerhalb des Stadtzentrums befinden sich die Moritz- und die Lutherkirche. Auch wenn sie nicht direkt mit dem Reformationsgeschehen in Verbindung stehen, sind sie doch Zeugnisse der später gewachsenen evangelischen Gemeinden der Stadt.

Auch die Kunstsammlungen Zwickau Max-Pechstein-Museum, das Stadtarchiv und die Ratsschulbibliothek als Sachsens älteste, öffentliche, wissenschaftliche Bibliothek, verwahren kostbare Schätze aus der Lutherzeit. So unter anderem eine große Sammlung sakraler Kunst der Region mit Werken des berühmten Bilderschnitzers Peter Breuer (1472-1541), Lutherbriefe sowie die Gehaltsquittungen Thomas Müntzers oder aber kostbare Bibeln.

Auf den insgesamt 16 Stationen die zur Reise in die Reformationszeit einladen, bekommt man nicht nur einen wunderbaren Eindruck von der Altstadt, sondern auch Einblicke in die historischen Zusammenhänge.