The Reformer and his connection to Zwickau

The name Martin Luther (1483-1546) is inseparably linked to the Reformation of the church, initiated by him. Nailing his theses to the door of the castle church of Wittenberg on October 31, 1517 marked the beginning of changes which could not have been more far-reaching. Luther’s goal was to rebuild a church truly being committed to the Gospel. Thus, he wanted to reform every single area of this institution.

Especially in the beginning Luther used to maintain close contact to the already enlightened town council of Zwickau which was thrilled by his ideas and implemented them soon. Luther dedicated his work “On the Freedom of a Christian” to Hermann Mühlpfort, the mayor of Zwickau, due to the commitment of its citizenship.

Besides Luther himself suggested Thomas Müntzer as a preacher of St. Mary’s Cathedral instead of evangelist Egranus. In total Martin Luther preached four times at Zwickau, between April 30 and May 2, 1522; and once from a window of the town hall. It has been reported that 14 000 people from Zwickau and its surroundings listened to his sermon.

Der Reformator und seine Beziehungen zu Zwickau

Der Name Martin Luthers (1483-1546) ist untrennbar mit der von ihm angestoßenen Reformation der Kirche verbunden. Sein Thesenanschlag an der Schlosskirche zu Wittenberg am 31. Oktober 1517 war der Beginn von Veränderungen, die kaum weitgreifender hätten sein können. Sein Ziel war die Wiederherstellung einer Kirche, die sich dem Evangelium verpflichtet fühlte. Dazu brauchte es eine Reform durch alle Bereiche der institutionalisierten Glaubensgemeinschaft.

Luther pflegte gerade in den Anfangsjahren eine enge Bindung zum aufgeklärten Zwickauer Rat, der begeistert die Ideen der Wittenberger Reformatoren umsetzte. Durch das engagierte Wirken der Zwickauer Bürgerschaft veranlasst, widmete  Luther, seine Schrift „Von der Freyheyt eynis Christenmenschen“ dem Bürgermeister Hermann Mühlpfort.

Luther selbst war es auch, der Thomas Müntzer als Vertretung für den Prediger Egranus an St. Marien vorschlug. Zwischen dem 30. April und 2. Mai 1522 predigte Martin Luther insgesamt viermal in der Muldestadt – einmal  aus einem Fenster im Rathaus. Auf dem Hauptmarkt sollen 14.000 Menschen aus Zwickau und der Umgebung seiner Predigt gelauscht haben.